Skip To Main Content

Select a School

Madison Metropolitan School District

Special Education

Our goal in MMSD is to ensure all students with disabilities receive their federally guaranteed free, appropriate public education (FAPE) in the least restrictive environment, thus promoting inclusive schooling.  Student services advances a diverse, expansive continuum of services and placements essential for both IDEA adherence, and for realizing inclusive schooling.

three cartoon people

Madison Metropolitan School District offers a range of services to students with disabilities requiring special education. Students are determined to be eligible by meeting state criteria in one or more state defined disability areas. Once determined eligible, an Individual Education Plan (IEP) is developed and students may begin receiving services.  Students identified as having special education needs are eligible to receive services from birth to age 21. MMSD is committed to provide an equal educational opportunity to all children with disabilities within the district. Services are also available to students attending nonpublic schools. Language support and interpretation is available for families whose native language is other than English.

Disability Advocacy Resources

If you have questions related to our work and/or the contents of our website, please call (608) 663-8442

The Special Education Administrative Team contact information

Interim Executive Director, Dr. Nancy Molfenter - nfmolfenter@madison.k12.wi.us - 608-575-4269

Early Childhood and Eastside Elementary Schools - Dr. Scott Zimmerman, Assistant Director - slzimmerman@madison.k12.wi.us - 608-663-8486

Westside Elementary Schools - Amy Hefty, Special Education Coordinator - ahefty@madison.k12.wi.us - 608-663-8491

Middle Schools - Dr. Jan Chynoweth, Assistant Director - jgchynoweth@madison.k12.wi.us - 608-663-8485

High Schools - Julie Evert, evert@madison.k12.wi.us - 608-204-2451

Intensive Intervention Programs - Martha Olsen, Special Education Coordinator - maolsen@madison.k12.wi.us - 608-206-9019